Official Gatherer Text (“Oracle”):
Whenever Abomination blocks or becomes blocked by a green or white creature, destroy that creature at end of combat.
Card Types and Details
Mana Cost: {3}{B}{B}
Color: Black
Type(s): Creature
Subtype(s): Horror
Power/Toughness: 2/6
Original Card Info
Original Card Text: All green or white creatures blocking or blocked by Abomination are destroyed at the end of combat.
Original Set: Legends {LEG}
Original Rarity: Uncommon
Original Artist: Mark Tedin
Old School legal reprints (original art and old frame):
• Legends (Original Printing)
• Legends (Italian)
• 4th Edition {4ED}
• Renaissance (French & German) {REN}
• 4th Edition w/black borders (Japanese, traditional Chinese, Korean, Spanish & Portuguese) {4BB}
• 4th Edition w/white borders (Japanese, Spanish & Portuguese) {4WB}
Trivia:
The inspiration for the art came from Mark Tedin seeing a distorted self-portrait of Leonardo da Vinci. {2023 Interview on YouTube}.
Detailed Rulings, Examples and Notes:
(written by RagingRiverMTG; bold text taken in part from official rulings)
- Rules Nerd Point 🤓: First, when the green or white creature blocks or becomes blocked by Abomination, Abomination’s ability technically triggers and goes on the stack at that time, during the declare blockers step. However, when that trigger resolves, it doesn’t do anything other than create a new second delayed trigger to eventually destroy that creature. Then that second delayed trigger will trigger at the beginning of the end of combat step, and when it resolves, finally destroy the creature. Once Abomination’s ability triggers during the declare blockers step, there’s no way (in Old School) to stop that ability from resolving and creating the second delayed trigger anyway, so most of the time players don’t pay attention to the stack during the declare blockers step. But technically, this is how the ability works.
- The color of the blocking/blocked creature is checked only at declaration of the block during the declare blockers step. If the creature is green or white at that time, it will be destroyed by Abomination’s delayed trigger at end of combat even if it changes color before combat ends.
- Abomination’s ability will also trigger if the blocking/blocked creature is both green and white. The ability will just trigger one single time, not twice, if the creature is green and white.
- Note that Abomination’s ability won’t destroy the creature until the end of combat step, which is after Abomination and that creature have dealt combat damage to each other. If Abomination already killed that creature with combat damage during the combat damage step, then Abomination’s delayed trigger will just not do anything in the end of combat step.

